Erm, I think maybe you meant “the vast space within”?

Enormity: (1) “the quality of passing all moral bounds; excessive wickedness or outrageousness.” (2) A monstrous offense or evil; an outrage. (From my American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.) As I do not have my copy of Garner’s handy at the moment, I can’t tell you where “enormity” used for “great size, immensity,” now sits on the Language Change Index. My AHD calls that definition a “usage problem,” but Merriam-Webster lists it as an acceptable definition and argues, “When used to denote large size, either literal or figurative, it usually suggests something so large as to seem overwhelming… .” For me, “enormity” to mean “very large” stops me every time; if I were the copyeditor for this site (was there a copyeditor for this site?), I would have suggested considering some different wording in order to avoid the issue altogether.

Screen shot 2013-09-29 at 12.27.10 PM

(From the City Modern home tours web site)

Leave a Reply

