One of the wronger things I’ve read lately, from TheAtlantic.com:

Still, Kennedy’s essay shows a profound, if unintentional, understanding of the primary value of attending an elite school: status and personal connections, rather than mastery of academic skills and knowledge. [emphasis mine]

Really? That’s the primary value of attending an elite school? Sorry, no. This is the sort of cynical comment I’d expect from my students, not from “a senior associate editor at The Atlantic” who “oversees the Education Channel.” I graduated from an “elite” college, and I can assure you that four years dedicated to the life of the mind was exactly the primary value of that experience for me.

Leave a Reply

